342 Pages

All the words on so many pages. Page 1 and look at how much ink there is. How much time to cross a line. The next paragraph a mile a way. I wonder of the percentage of one page in 342 pages, how many is a third. And what did that last line say. How much time to read each line twice. So pass my eyes across the lines without absorbing a thing, just to be nearer completing the book I am not reading. Just pouring it across my impatient eyes.

_____

She grew a thing, she looked at it with pride. No matter how it grew, it grew from her, that was enough for her. It spread salt on the snails and burned ants beneath the lens. It was made robust by her. No give in the pith and spat from the bridge, into the river. It grew it’s own thing, she looked at it with pride. No matter how it grew, it grew from her, that was enough, for her.

_____

The last
drop of blood
perched upon
a skeletal frame,
the snow wrote
renewal but
the blood remains.

_____

Plagiarism is
nothing new.
The branch
plagiarises
the root.

_____

Names make art
as easy as touching
canvas with pigment.

_____

A man was sat next to me, a drink under his nose. I noticed a ladybug paddling in the cup, instinctively I reached my finger into the liquid, to fetch the bug out, but the liquid thickened and pushed the bug away. It stopped moving and sank to bottom, where I noticed through the murk, more dead beetles and stagnant weed in this small rancid pond beneath his nose.

_____

She was studying
mind reading,
so attempted
to read mine.

She said that
I was thinking
her a fraud,
a charlatan.

This is how
they get you.

_____

Tom sings
a liquid line,
stir to taste a
different verse
each time.

Leave a comment