Distraction

We headed out in the evening. The night was sharply cold, so we wrapped up in thick coats, scarves and hats, me and she. Fortunately the day was dry, so no ice to clear on the car’s screen. Just to get in, turn the heater on full and get going. I reversed out of the drive, asking my partner if the other side was clear, then drove off. The air seemed blue white and still, no chance of mistaking how cold it was beyond the windscreen. Lights bounced in the rear view mirror, then swept away as the following car turned off. In the distance two dim lights wash up and down on the bumpy road, leaving streaks of red on my tired eyes. I heard “..But what do you think?”. What? She was talking all this time? Shit.

Bubbling under.

I went out early as it was a nice morning. Barely a wisp of cloud in the deep blue sky. Just the merest breeze to take the edge off the sun’s heat. Walking to the bus stop I spied only two other people, an older man carrying today’s paper and a young man nursing an unidentified bottle in a paper bag, a bottle of some strength if his fragile gait was anything to go by. Neither wished to meet my eye. At the bus stop the shelter had been vandalised again, glass strewn across the seats and path, the perfume add looked less than romantic hanging from the broken frame.
I was trying to decipher the smudged schedule, to see when I might expect the first bus of the morning when a pair of men came into view. One was wisp thin, short and had the greasiest hair imaginable. The other was tall and broad, like he could eat a meal without noticing. Though I fight the preconceptions and prejudices of my mind, they still looked like trouble. Sadly my prejudice gained a notch, as the thinner man out of nowhere kicked me in the shin. Disbelief ran through me before the pain could get a foothold. What? Why? In a delayed reaction I leapt back and asked why he would just kick a stranger in the shin. But I received no reply. They just shared a laugh and made inaudible sniggering comments to each other. Thoughts of being a fighting master crossed my mind, what I would do if I had those ninja killer skills. I tutted and rubbed my shin.
This severely disturbed that beautiful morning. I did not wait for that bus. Instead I returned home and plotted imaginary revenge, while soaking in the bubbles of my bath.

One thought on “Distraction

Leave a Reply

