Imagined view

The bare knuckles of the tree
Sends chill shivers right through me
Iced light pours over the limbs
As our brief winter’s day dims.

 

Peeking from around a tree,
the squirrel sat a watching me.
he crept and stole my gifts away
to line his criminally opulent drey.

 

I just felt the spring start coiling
Beyond the chill as we are toiling
The tension felt through the ether
Soon to burst like flooding river
Buds to explode in vibrant colour
Spirit bursting from our mother.

 

We draw the line in our monthly chain
as if tomorrow was new
while each tick continues the same
Its all an imagined view.

 

I gathered my funds
to chase the sun
not one day older
forever young.

One thought on “Imagined view

Leave a Reply

