Sporadic print

As vibrant as the sun and energising as the moon
Shaking soul through her filter exploding out a tune
Washing in her pure raw power she energises us
She is more psychedelic than Ken Kesey’s bus
Open your heart and let the music all soak in
Fully appreciate the mighty Janis Joplin.

 

He had the superpower to change form to how he chose
No need for costume he could also create his clothes
He was always found though, despite this super wish
This shape shifting penguin couldn’t hide his stench of fish.

 

A demon emerged from hidden realm
Wanted more power to be at the helm
In fear we watched it emerge from within
How balloons feel when they see the pin
Please gird your loins and hold on fast
This part is scary but it will not last
One more twist of its screeching head
Now to move on beyond the dread.

 

They have been here for millennia.
They watched all the fighting in the many wars,
Watched the destruction and the reconstruction,
They saw some of their brothers being taken away.
Watched civilisation’s transformation
The stones are still here today.

Henge, or band?..

 

I push the big iron key into the lock and hope the mechanism still turns, it is as stiff as usual but in lumbering clicks and laboured sprung springs the door unlocks, I reach around into the dark and switch on the light, it flickers and buzzes before settling and starting to brighten. The workshop is still cold on this morning so I switch on the electric heater and go back inside to get a sweater. Upon returning the light is starting to hit its stride and now I can see the clay pots standing to attention in rows of twelve on all my shelves. I take my apron from the hook and prepare the clay, for more cups to be made today. Metronomically I wedge the clay, then sit at the wheel and throw it down. Automatically I centre and form the basic shape, feeling the same feelings of more than a thousand cups formed before, a boredom suddenly hits me and I turn off the wheel. Stare up at row upon row of clay forms, I look back down at yet another, stand up and take my apron off. Time for a walk, turn off the heater, turn off the light, time to clear my head.

 

Leave a comment